"Groups Settings" has multiple severe problems
The "Groups Settings" under the moderator's "Control Panel" doesn't work in expected ways. Most changes force "Who can join" to be changed to "Anyone can apply to join, moderator approval is required" to be pushed with the group type "Custom". (This is a bug. Why should moderator approval be required for new members, for example, when the moderator simply wants to restrict non-member access to certain parts of the group). It is also bad UI design. Sometimes the group type will unexpectedly and wrongly become "Restricted" even when appeared to be only "Custom" when the configuration was saved. (Another bug.)
In any cases, even though the group is "Custom" moderators never are given the change to change these options back. (Another bug. The documentation implies that the group can be changed back to public.)
Moderators are not adequately warned when the changes they make are irrevocable. (Another bug.)
Finally, the Help documentation does not explain what really happens. (A bug in documentation).
We’ve made enhancements and also updated help content to reflect the same.
The so called enhancements have been poorly designed and the documentation is woefully inadequate.
The change to the Help seems to say "Custom" = "Restricted". This was not the case before. There is no sensible reason to confound public visibility of features with whether new members are approved.
These are orthogonal ideas.
Unchecking a box ("Non members can view link section") unexpectedly caused it to be invisible after saving the Group Settings (presumably because of the erroneous behind-the-scenes change from Custom to Restricted). After saving another box ("Non members can view calendar section") remained checked and visible, but was disabled unexpectedly! The only clue, which was not apparent at the time, was that prior to saving the check mark in that box ("Non members can view calendar section") was slightly darker that the other check marks.
More details: When the system incorrectly forces "Anyone can apply to join, moderator approval is required" because of unchecking just about anything, the group changes to "Restricted" even though (most of the time) the system simply says "Custom" when the "Save" button is pressed.
"Custom" is more or less meaningless now. Please stop automatically setting "Anyone can apply to join, moderator approval is required". Please do not change a group to "Restricted" or "Private" when the UI says "Custom". Please warn us when unchecking a box changes other radio buttons. Please warn us if when a change to a check box is irrevocable. Please ensure that any group that is "Custom" can be made public as your documentation. You do none of those things!